Best way to practice magic?

Amo

Apr 24, 2014
Hello,
I have recently found that I have been discouraged and unwilling to practice magic. I'm pretty sure this is because I feel like I am getting nowhere with my practice. I normally just sit down and practice the sleight and routine in 30 minute sections, Practice then rest or homework ( I'm a student) then back to practice. Because I am a student I want to make my practice as productive and fun as possible. I can fit about 4 and a half hours of practice in on school days, but that does mean I don't get a lot of time to relax until about 10 pm. On week ends I can do 7 hours and still get all my work and jobs done, or at least any that I don't get done in the week. I'm currently working on trick from 'The Trilogy' by Dan and Dave Buck ( they are my favourite magicians/flourisher's). I love how visual and fast paced the tricks are yet really give the spectators a punch in the stomach, not literally because they probably wouldn't want to see any more tricks after that. :p
So I just want to know how I can make my practice productive and allow me to get a few really good tricks under my sleeve for the summer when I will more then likely be able to walk around and show magic to strangers to begin to boost my confidence as well, but that's a different topic.
Thanks in advance,
Adam

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
Marathon sessions of practice are counter-productive. The mind can only absorb so much information at any given time before it starts "muddying". To speak more scientifically, as you repeat an action you form neural pathways in your brain. If you do this for too long, those pathways start overlapping and confusing each other. So doing the same thing over and over four hours at a time will hold you back.