Buy This 1-on-1!

Mike.Hankins

creator / <a href="http://www.theory11.com/tricks/
Nov 21, 2009
Sacramento, Cali
I will speak my 2 cents then go have a bowl of Lucky Charms.

Go into your local magic shop, sit down and ask questions about moves or sleights. Chances are, you will be taught something new. That is knowledge passed down from one magician to another to help progress our art.

The next logical move would be to ask where he/she learned that move/sleight and then buy that resource. That is how it goes in this game. Just like I have been DJing for 15 years, and now have 1.5tb of music that I have purchased. If I am in a club and hear a sick track, a friend might give me a copy of it. And after hearing it again, I will buy the friggin song to support our cause. Just like magic. Support the cause, if you see something you like, buy the damn thing.

I lost over 70+ DVDs while in Iraq alog with 40 some books. And while I can easily torrent them, I am showing repsect to the artists and BUYING everything all over again. And guess what? Michael Ammar heard what went on and ended up sending me all of his DVDs at no charge. Because he saw my attempts at being ethical.

With that aside, this change is amazing!!!

Mike

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia
I doubt it, to be honest. Magic is very unique as a field. I may be wrong, but there's very little precedence to do with many such magic related ethical issues. And it's simply not feasible to prosecute.

Mike.Hankins

creator / <a href="http://www.theory11.com/tricks/
Nov 21, 2009
Sacramento, Cali
Would this hold up in court? is there a law against showing a magic dvd to a friend?.

There is nothing wrong with having a friend over to watch a new purchase. Especially if that person didn't buy it yet themselves. I mean, I own more non-magic DVDs than anyone I have ever met, and of course I have movie nights where friends come over to watch a new DVD. That is not the issue.

I think we need to set everything up this way: