David Blaine Psychological Card Forces?

Jun 8, 2018
TEXAS
Hi, I'm new to theory11. I've recently been getting into David Blaine for the first time, and his newer specials astound me. Particularly in the aspect of ditching the need to psychically force cards and just having spectators think of one.

For a specific example: in his 2012 special, Real or Magic, Blaine performs a trick on Jaden Smith. I already know how he does it, as Asi Wind has a tutorial. However, obviously, Blaine puts a twist on it where he only asks Jaden to think of a card, instead of forcing one. He also uses no noticeable Peter Turner style suggestion.

I'd like to know if their are any books or tutorials i could check out that are able to teach this kind of thing? I'm really hoping they're just in on it and it's all fake, or it's dual reality. And if it is, are their still any similar tutorials available?

Reactions: Khaleel Olaiky

ID4

Aug 20, 2010
You have to remember that sometimes what you see on screen is not the complete trick that the audience actually experienced. David used a preshow technique to achieve the optimal outcome. Yes, there are books or tutorials available for purchase.

Josh Burch

Elite Member
Aug 11, 2011
Utah
So, I used to create magic for Rick Lax. We tried a lot of psychological forces on his Facebook videos. If it was really great we'd get 20% hits out of a million views. It's my opinion that for the most part they are unreliable. There are exceptions out there but there are a few magicians out there that are selling bad methods as psi forces.

I do know there are more methods for Double Exposure than what Asi teaches at Art of Magic. I've seen Garrett Thomas use an original that fooled me and have seen at least 2 other versions explained to me. I think it's possible that the version we see David use is a different method.