New Job Opportunity + Book Questions

Dec 23, 2007
Fredonia, NY
Hello all, i have recently been approached by a gentleman about a potential job as a dealer. I tend to always have cards with me when Im in the halls at college. This gentleman had seen me and had come up to me asking if i had ever dealt cards, knew how to stack, and a myriad of other questions finally getting around to asking me if i was interested in being a dealer at a weekly card game. Ive been doing magic for about 3-4 years seriously and know my way around a deck. That includes basic knowledge of card mechanics. Im not talking about cheating, although i know that too, im talking about shuffling, dealing, the rules, and etiquette. Im seriously considering taking this guy up on his offer but there a few things holding me back. One, the guy has repeatedly, jokingly made comments and inquired about my ability to cheat and stack the deck in his favor. Two, he has told me about the group and referred to it as an "old italian family" and the area is a little seedy but he assured me id be "protected" lol. Three, im a little nervous. If anybody has an advice for a job like this, or anything along those lines, im willing to accept criticism's, help or jokes about me being whacked by the mob. thanks

Second topic, i am looking into purchasing two books. The first is Pit Hartling's Card Fictions, that one is easy enough to locate. The other is "The Card Magic of Ed Marlow". This has proven to be more difficult to find a reliable seller. If anyone knows somewhere i can buy it that would be great. Preferably a store that sell's both books so i dont have to make two seperate orders

CaseyRudd

Director of Operations
Team member
Jun 5, 2009
Charleston, SC
www.instagram.com