Performance Help

Nov 21, 2022
So I’ve had struggles when it comes to performing a card trick. I know the sleights and moves well but I feel that my presentation is off because I don’t always get the desired reaction. Anyone have any tips on performing? Especially when someone just out of the blue asks for a trick?

Jul 17, 2022
How you talk is a big part of the performance. You want to act exited and talk confidently. It doesn’t come easy at first, I’ve been performing for a couple years and still act shaky. If you want some advice, I would definitely suggest practicing your patter while you practice the trick. Also, don’t talk too much, or you’re spectator will get bored and it will ruin the trick.
If you’re going to do a whole ruitine, which definitely improves reactions, There are also some things you should know. You want to start with a short and sweet trick, do whatever tricks you want to in the middle, and do your best trick last.
When someone just asks for a trick out of the blue, you want to exceed their expectations. Here’s an example:
Spectator: can you show me a trick?
Magitian: Sure! I’m not that great, but I think this is pretty cool..
You proceed to blow there minds away.

Reactions: JoshL8

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
This is an extremely broad question.

The way I get the reactions I want will probably be very different to the way you get them.

So the first thing I'd ask is this: What is your character and performance style?

A lot of people short this answer by saying something like, "I'm just myself and casual" but what does that actually mean? What can you do and why? Are you funny? Serious? Somber? Goofy?

Understanding your character helps you know what kind of scripting you should use. Otherwise the scripting might not match the character and that discrepancy will cause a disconnect between the performer and the audience.

Second: What reaction are you specifically going for?