Professional Magician

Aug 19, 2008
OK, so I've been doing magic for about 6 years now, along with balloon twisting, and I'm picking up fire eating. I've done restaurant work and birthday parties. Now I want to get myself really out there. How do I become a touring magician? How do I get on cruise ships? How do I get on TV shows? How do I get a job at a big magic dealer like Theory11?

Sep 1, 2007
OK, so I've been doing magic for about 6 years now, along with balloon twisting, and I'm picking up fire eating. I've done restaurant work and birthday parties. Now I want to get myself really out there. How do I become a touring magician? How do I get on cruise ships? How do I get on TV shows? How do I get a job at a big magic dealer like Theory11?

Let me answer those with more questions.

1. What's your target market?
2. What time frame are you expecting to complete all of this in?
3. Do you have any experience whatsoever in marketing and copywriting?
4. Why should someone hire you instead of someone else?

Wecome to the working life mate! Let's see if I can't help answer some of these questions for you.

The first question I have for you is what kind of magic do you do? Are you close up? Stage? Mentalism? Balloon twisting says kids parties while fire eating says adult only. So I think you should probably start off by figuring out exactly who or what your image brand is, and begin branding it.

Next, having done three national tours, let me tell you right now get that out of your head. There's absolutely no money in it. You tour to build your resume, to knock a few locations off your bucket list, and to help perpetuate your brand. But with the cost of traveling, and the cost of living while on the road, you'd have to be playing the game on Copperfields level to make any rea money out of touring. That isn't to say you will be in the red, but it's just a rough way to go. You're bread and butter is cock tail parties and corporate events.