Shakey...

Jan 18, 2008
somewhere
Well I have been doing card magic for a few years now and no matter what I try I am always nervous when I preform for people I'm not comfortable with. Always. After a few tricks i warm up to them and its gone. do u guys have any special procedure that gets rid of that first thingy?

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia
Breathe, and just do it. Expel all the nervousness you can when you breathe out - and in that moment, before you have time to get all nervous again, just do it, just start, and get into it, because once you do you just have to focus on the magic and on the spectators and you don't have time for nerves. It gets better with time too.

Apr 28, 2008
I had this problem and I solved it by performing more frequently. I always used to shake even after i'd been doing magic for over a year, it can be a really horrible thing to have, it can make difficult sleights almost impossible.

As soon as I came to university and started performing regularly (3+ times a week, for many different people over the course of an evening) the shaking completely vanished, now i'm as comfortable in front of 20 people as I am sitting in my room practicing. You just need to get out there and perform loads for lots of different people. It won't be easy to start with but keep at it and it will definitely go away.

May 13, 2008
St Albans, UK
It also helps if your first trick relies on spectators/presentation and minimum sleights rather than visual and tough card magic.

You don't want to open with Raise Rise that's all i'll say.

Nov 26, 2008
I do the first trick that is in Crash Course in Card magic.

Basically a switches places with one ontop of the deck. It's convincing and gets them into what you are doing. When the person get's the first "shock" I normally have no problem preforming

Aug 10, 2008
In a rock concert