Way for a new Magician to Make Money?

byu

Jul 1, 2009
USA
I'm trying to save up to buy the Skywalker levitation.

My only trouble is, I don't have a job.
I'm 12, and I'm new to magic. I can do several magic tricks, and they impress many people.

I want to get a job in magic, because my parents say "Money you make from magic can go to magic."

So, do any of you have suggestions on where to start? Should I just go out into a major city, sit down on a street with a bucket that says "DONATIONS" and start performing tricks?

Justin.Morris

Elite Member
Aug 31, 2007
Canada
www.morrismagic.ca
Heh, don't start busking on the street - you need a licence to do that!

Hmm. It takes money to make money. You need to get an arsenal of effects. Skip the Skywalker levitation for now and head to your local library and get every single book you can find on magic.
Learn form there first and then ask for some books from your parents for your birthday and Christmas etc.
Find some places to volunteer to do some walk around stuff to perfect your performance for strangers and perhaps hit the streets a bit. You could also look for a local magic club in your area.

Hope that helps some!

Justin

well, i would talk to a local library or summer program of sorts. libraries sometimes host programs for the children there. do a show. if you are good enough and entertainging enough, then the parents may want to hire you for a show.
start there.
or u could always mow lawns

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH
Best thing for you to do would be to join your local IBM ring / club. That was the best move in magic I ever made. I've learned more in one year of being a club member than I did in 8 years trying to do things on my own.

If your parents are against that, I would start buying books. More bang for you buck. Don't just go buy the biggest and next best thing you can afford. That will only appease you for a few weeks and then you will want something else.