Expensive Hobby

Dec 13, 2008
Midwest
I am very new to magic, in fact, have only been practicing and reading (everything I can get my hands on) for about a month now. The one thing I am noticing (as is my wife when she looks at the receipts) is this might be an expensive hobby between purchasing tricks, books, decks, gimmicks, etc...

Between books and purchasing 1on1 tutorials here at Theory11 it is adding up. A lot of tricks I can figure out myself after some thought, but some blow be away, so I will purchase them, only to find out how basic the sleight/gimmick is. I am glad these tutorials are here, and the magicians can get some royalties.

That being said, how much do you guys spend on magic gear/ideas in a month?
I am around $150 in the past four weeks. My wife has informed me to slow down. :rolleyes:

Greg

May 19, 2008
manchester
ummmmm lol, okay well I spend about... £0 - £5 ($0 - $10) ever month, just think about what type of magic you like (lets say cards), and you see a great trick (lets say indecent) and you think wow, also think - will this seriously improve my magic? - if the answer is no then don't buy it, look for something like royal road to card magic - will THIS seriously improve my magic? - yes it probably will.

and you can take a LONG time with those types of books - ive had j.b. bobos book for about 1 month, and im still doing the first thing in the entire book (classic parm), but not like sit down and do it, I will just hold a coin in classic parm... try it like that, then when you think you have your sleight down good maybe start thinking about how you could use it in a trick - then when ever you perform the trick you are

1. being creative
2. pactasing (sp.)
3. learning how to perform so that when you do buy somthing like indecent, you know how to perform.

Dec 13, 2008
Midwest