Improvising Training Routines

Dec 29, 2008
Singapore
Hi all! I'm new to the forums (and magic), and I am happy (and a little nervous) to join this community.

Anyway I just started out doing magic for a little over two non-intensive months, during with i sought out dvds and books here and there. I guess I am able to perform a couple of effects for people now, and sort of not sure how to carry on from here. I would guess training and practicing would be good, but sometimes it just gets a little boring to keep repeating a sleight over and over for so many hours. Is there any good methods to spice up the training routines so as to make it more enjoyable?

Thanks in advance for anyone taking the time to reply to this. I appreciate it. =)

Cheers,

Dennis

P.S. I'm still a rookie, but I hope I can stay long enough and grow enough to be able to contribute to this community too =)

Apr 27, 2008
Norway
Hi Dennis, and welcome to the community of awesome!

One very interesting way to spice things up is to go up to a relative, borther, mother, father, sister - and do the trick. It won't matter too much if you mess up, because they will be seeing alot of your magic in the coming days :)

I use my relatives as training, to see whether a sleight is polished enough or not. And if you do, you get an idea of what it is like to do it with someone watching ;)

Or, you could likewise do the sleight over and over in front of the telly, or some other sort of visual entretaining device...you choice.

Food for thoght;
Gustav

Feb 27, 2008
France
Hi,
After all magic is just like flourishes...For perfect it practice is the word what that mean is that you'll need to practice years hours days and months for going into the perfect, gorgeous, eye-candy, in ya face looking, super effect.