WOW - Can't Believe it

Nov 10, 2007
Hey,

Let me introduce my name 1st, it is Donald. I have been doing magic for the past 7 years, but seriously for about the past 3 years. I take magic very seriously. I am a close-up magician, who basically only does cards. I wouldn't learning some solid coin routines with a 50 cent shell piece, as I have one. I am going to be a Senor in high school next year, and have never taken school seriously, it was never my main focus, magic is and will remain my focus.

Ever since 9th grade I have wanted to do magic professionally you know making a living off it, supporting my wife and kids off it. Now the time has come though it is my Senor year and I am more terrified then ever. Is this what I am really going to do with my life? I hope so.

I ask you people who have possibly been though this situation, staff of Theory11, older people with experience, to please give me any sort of advice. I really need to know how to take my magic to the next level. No, not by learning new effects or the latest move, but by learning how to get my name out there, and landing those gigs. I currently have 2 restaurant gigs, 1 every Monday night, and the other is not a consistent gig they just call me up every few weeks to do walk around magic.

I want to stick with doing close-up magic, and stay away from kids shows. My favorite type of magic is walk around, there is something about it, you can get on a personal level with your spectator, and they can truly see everything happening.

-What do I need to know, to become a working professional magician?
-Any tips you can give me?
-Possibly some experiences you have been through trying to do the same thing?
- Anything at all

Thank you and can not wait to see the responses
- Donald

Apr 27, 2008
Norway
The stupidest thing you can do is put your academic education behind your hobby.

I don't care how strongly you feel about magic, life isn't a Disney movie.

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia