Doing some walk around next month - help!

Mar 21, 2011
Hey everyone,

Haven't posted on here in a while - sadly magic has taken a back seat since university started, but hopefully that should be changing soon :) I've been called upon to perform some walk around magic at a ball we're hosting on 9th Feb. Experience wise, I did some "shows" at a hospice last year, and attempted some restaurant magic which totally failed - field reports were posted on here at the time. So since this is my first time doing something big, I'm pretty worried, and was hoping some of the seasoned pros over here could give me some advice :)

1. What to perform. This is always the big question. 3 things on my list for sure are invisible deck, french kiss and stand up monte. I'm proficient enough with a deck of cards to be able to do any and all of the basic tricks that everyone learns too (acr, sloppy triumph, 2cm etc), but tbh they're not really as hard hitting compared to ID and french kiss. Definitely something to fall back on though if necessary.

I'm considering adding a sponge ball/sponge bunny routine to the list. I can do all the basic moves etc, and have done enough variations of sponge balls at parties for little kids, so in that regard, it shouldn't be a problem. The thing I'm concerned about is not actually having a proper routine devised. In my head I've got an idea of a flash production of the first ball, magically "split" that into two, do the usual "one in my hand, one in your hand, oh look, they're both in your hand" thing... but where do I go from there? It would be nice to end with the "2 balls in the hand, one in the pocket, how many in the hand" thing ending finally with all of them vanishing, but there's that bit in the middle where there are 2 balls in play and I need to introduce the third somehow in a reasonable fashion - if anyone does the sponge balls, any help would be much appreciated :)