First time doing table to table magic

Nov 6, 2017
Hi all,

First time asker, long time lurker.

So I've been asked to do some table to table magic for a charity dinner. It'll be my first time doing magic in this style (as I'm usually doing street magic or one off while standing). So I just wanted to fire a few questions so I feel a bit more prepared.

1) How long should a routine be? There will be around 20 - 30 tables to get through.

2) When should I perform the magic? In between courses? After everyone has eaten?

3) How to approach a table and do an introduction?

4) Any other tips to take into consideration?

Hopefully I can get some answers and feel a bit more at ease :)

Thanks everyone

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH
Hi,
I don't claim to be an expert by any means; however I have been doing this for the past 18 years semi professionally and can offer what has worked for me.

Strolling magic or table hopping should be broken up into sets of effects. There should be a fast opener that grabs their attention within the first 30 seconds. Your other effects can be a bit more of routine that have good stopping points should you need to finish due to food arriving or a presenter getting ready to speak, etc.

I have 3 sets of 3 effects. Set A, Set B, and Set C which all go into specific spots of my suit coat and pants pockets.
Pocket management is crucial and imperative when table hopping. You don't need to load up with 20 effects. 9 will be plenty but you may wish to also bring a solid closer should the client try to show you off to any big wigs.

Alternate your sets A,B,&C as you work your way around the tables. This alleviates people looking over at you from the next table and already knowing what is coming their way. It kind of kills the shock and awe factor if they have already seen your kicker ending to a card routine because they could see from the nearby table.