How's this?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jul 17, 2011
I'm new to Cardistry, so I don't know a whole lot of moves, yet, but I've been practicing a couple.

One is a sort of half-deck flip (anyone know the proper name for this move?)
Here's a video of me practicing:
[video=youtube;jQHnOvf1HhI]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQHnOvf1HhI[/video]
I also messed up a bunch of times, but I cut those clips out.

Also, can you guys give some advice and criticism? I really want to get better.

Oh, one other thing. Dunno how much of a difference it makes, but I was using a really crappy, worn-out deck.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jun 22, 2010
Martinez, CA
When you said "half deck flip" it interested me because I'm working on a half deck flip of mine as well, Does yours require your thumb to flip the packet? By the way, the video isn't showing.

Jul 17, 2011
When you said "half deck flip" it interested me because I'm working on a half deck flip of mine as well, Does yours require your thumb to flip the packet? By the way, the video isn't showing.
It does not require my thumb, no, it uses my middle finger. The video should work now. I can see it fine.

The flip isn't anything really special, and its not my own creation. Just something I was working on.

I'm no expert on flourishing, so I can't critique you. But, I will say this. The term "cardistry" is misused by a lot of people nowadays. Cardistry is a very, very old term meaning "the magical artistry of playing cards", which has nothing to do with flourishing and XCM, which is the non-magical artistry of playing cards. The books "Cardistry" by Paul Gordon, and Rusduck's "The Cardiste-Dedicated to the Art of Cardistry", are just a couple examples of this. I'm just trying to tell people that theory11 is teaching everyone the wrong definition of the word.

Jul 17, 2011