I need help

Oct 2, 2017
So I have been doing magic for about 4 years but all the sudden I am having trouble enjoying magic and I keep forgetting tricks, what do I do

Reactions: CWhite
Jul 15, 2017
Heavily consider doing something else for a while. I don't know what magic is to you, a hobby, a profession, or something you do for any other reason, but if you don't enjoy what you are doing you need to change what you are doing. You only have so many days in your life wasting even one on something you are feeling meh about is not worth it. So you are really left with one of two options.

1. Find a way to make magic fun for you again. If all you do is gimmicks and self working tricks, maybe dedicate the next stretch of your time in magic to sleight of hand or vise versa. Perform for a different type of audience, go outside of your comfort zone and shake things up.

2. if you tried all that stuff in 1, or you just don't feel it, go try another thing. Drop magic for a while and come back in a year or three with new eyes.

I hope this helps in any way, but I've been where you are in other aspects of my life and these are the only two things that helped. Good luck whatever you decide to do.

Reactions: Maaz Hasan
Dec 30, 2014
I hate that feeling! I've been doing magic for about 4 years as well but have had quite a few breaks throughout. I kinda always get annoyed about this as I still love it and want to do it but I lack motivation. After a while, though something somehow will get me back into it. I agree with justinquill, just try other stuff and maybe just take a break from magic. If you truly love it then you will end up with cards in your hand in no time!

Reactions: Maaz Hasan
Jan 26, 2017
Virginia
Everything these guys said
Just take a little break and come back to it. If you need some motivation, go look at people who do stuff that intrigues you or is completely different.