Making Magic Believable

Jan 18, 2009
I have been doing mentalism for about 3 years now and the hardest part of doing it is making it come to life, an organic trick of the mind that is believable. I always work on presentation and work on different ways to present and develop the effects.

I usually get great reactions from people I don't know, and of course my friends and family are just like "oh sweet, that was pretty neat" or something along those lines. The random people are always freaked out and the Electric Touch makes it so sweet that my grin sometimes starts to creep out after the effect. If you watch the TA trailer you see some amazing reactions that are so amazing just to watch.

So now that you read through the boring stuff and hopefully understand what I am saying I will now ask a question. How do YOU make your magic believable and how do you define as believable? Whether it be mentalism, cards, or money how do you make it a freak of nature or a miracle?

The reason I ask may be obvious but I want better reactions, I have the drive to make myself better than the next magician. Usually I work hard at what I do and usually have the answer, but this time, after 3 years of working at it, I now must ask other fellow magicians and mentalists the very question that I have been working at for over 3 years.

This is a question that should relate to everybody and hopefully everybody that bothers with this post will get something out of it and also contribute. Thanks.

Drew

May 3, 2008
Hong Kong
an interesting question : "How do you make your audience believe"