Routine...

Jul 19, 2008
i'm new to magic (about a few months....:D) i learned quite a few tricks and stuff. my problem is when someone asks me to do a trick after showing them one, i have a tendency to forget what trick (that i know) would be nice to do next. >.<

i need help......

Jul 19, 2008
im quite shy with my knowledge, but can you at least give me tips (or pointers) on how could you just chain a trick after a trick.

Dec 23, 2007
Fredonia, NY
Practice. What i do is write down different idea's for routines that i feel flow well. then i practice them and see if they have good rhythm and build of of the last as well as seeming to have a good plot line. If they dont keep that list and trash the ones that dont work. As you find out what works better you can see patterns and begin focusing more on refining those routines and tricks to become the very best they can and work more and more on performance rather than the tricks themselves and the routine. its all about practice and organization

for example, if your opener requires a signed card, it would be a good example to follow it with a trick that may be more powerful but also requires a signed card. or a coin to deck transpo is a good way to segqay between genre's. I thing i sometimes do is will have a signed card trick early on. Then later on mention we need a signed card and almost like "MAGIC" find there first signed card by shooting it out of the deck and make a comment like "oh yeah we already one". Its a good way to make them remember it is a routine not a collection of tricks. Makes it a cohesive whole.

Oct 2, 2008
UK
Jinai.deviantart.com
First up, welcome to the forum dude, hope you enjoy your stay here.