Thoughts on move monkeys

alright so on the topic of move monkeys...

My friend Matt Richman were chatting yesterday and I said "Not to be rude but don't you find it kinda pointless to practice stuff you won't ever use?" (because atm he was practicing stuff he wouldnt use live).

He said in reply "i'll give you a quote from (famous magician, who i forget the name of)" the quote went something like "its all about building up your toolbag, because you never know when you might need what."

So my question is, what is your opinion of being a move monkey? for me, I will practice anything, but only if I am not currently practicing something i will definitely use. Example: I am currently studying Erdnase because I don't have any performance magic to practice atm. Not to say i won't EVENTUALLY perform gambling sleights, thats just a while off yet.

So, is it okay to practice EVERY move you come across(be a move monkey), or is it pointless and not worth a magicians time?

Aug 10, 2008
In a rock concert
So, is it okay to practice EVERY move you come across(be a move monkey), or is it pointless and not worth a magicians time?

It's not like practicing EVERY move you come across everyday, I do consider myself a move monkey, and I practice them because I enjoy them just like I enjoy practicing flourishes.

Personally speaking, is gratifying when you see a hard move, you practice it and then you are able to get it to a decent level. Just like flourishes.

Again, personal opinion.

Mar 26, 2009
Arizona
it is good to learn a lot of moves, as that will get your own creative juices flowing. maybe you will find a small tweak that will make the move your own, and add something to it. Plus, in certain situations, some moves may look much better than others, so having multiple paths to the same end may help you give you a better performance.

also, as rdchopper said, learning a hard move and making it look good is satisfying, just like anything that requires practice to perfect.