Thoughts?

Jun 13, 2013
Hi everyone!

There's an effect I've been performing for almost 10 years that I created and have been thinking about releasing/selling for some time now. I would like your thoughts on this, if this is something that would be good to release (or if there's something already out there like this).

Note: This is not a Triumph effect nor is it similar in the manner that the effect is achieved.

The effect info is below:

Effect: Spectator freely chooses any card, signs it and returns it to the deck. Deck is placed back inside the box and when the deck of cards is taken out (by the spectator), their card is the only one that is turned over.

The card can be signed, the deck can be placed inside the box by the spectator, no gimmicks, switches and completely impromptu. Any skill level of magician will be able to perform this trick. You can even have multiple spectators choose and sign different cards at the same time.

Thoughts?

RealityOne

Elite Member
Nov 1, 2009
New Jersey
My first thought is that this uses the method for Mark Wilson’s Automatic Card Discovery and a box. It sounds like a great effect but if I’m right about the method, it probably isn’t marketable.

Jun 13, 2013
I haven't seen Mark Wilson's Automatic Card Discovery effect before, until you mentioned it. After watching it, at it's simplest form, both effect are essentially the same, with slight variations. My handling is different, and the revealing of the card is different, but same effect nonetheless. Not surprised that this has already been done, but a shame it probably won't be marketable.

In this case, would it still be considered okay to release the trick for free in the marketplace, but doing it with my methods and crediting the appropriate parties?

Reactions: 2018earthling
Mar 4, 2018
In this case, would it still be considered okay to release the trick for free in the marketplace, but doing it with my methods and crediting the appropriate parties?