What's With All The Lefties?

Oct 12, 2008
Andrei Jikh, Lee Asher, J.B, Eric Jones, we got a bunch of left handed guys on the theory11 staff. Even outside of here, Bill Malone and many others are left handed too, is there some connection between lefties and magic? (for the record, only 7-10% of people are left handed, but 25% of those releasing 1on1s are).

My brother, who is not left handed, does all of his magic in reversed hands. My question is, is there some connection from lefties to magic? and if so, is it an advantage?

Just some thoughts
Daniel

Sep 1, 2007
Left-handed people tend to think with the right hemisphere of the brain more predominantly, which focuses less on logic and data crunching than creativity.

Connection? Possibly. I'm just an armchair psychologist, not a doctor of neuroscience.

Mar 11, 2009
That's one of the things I've been wondering about also, but I've got no clue as to why. My first thought was that it was coincidence, but reversed hands seems like it could come in handy to let the spectator mirror your moves in a "do as I do trick" but no other reason comes to mind to me in general.

Yeah, I'm a lefty. It's a bastard to learn stuff from books, but, as Sterrpike said, we tend to use the creative side of our brains more. That's why the majority of famous artists are left handed.

Sep 1, 2007
Yeah, I'm a lefty. It's a bastard to learn stuff from books, but, as Sterrpike said, we tend to use the creative side of our brains more. That's why the majority of famous artists are left handed.

Maybe not a majority, but definitely a surprising proportion that includes some highly influential names. David Byrne, Tony Iommi, Jimi Hendrix, Robert Plant, all left-handed musicians. Renaissance painters Da Vinci, Michelangelo, and Rafael were left-handed. W.C. Fields, Robert De Niro, Mickey Rourke, Ron Perlman, and Charlie Chaplin, the same.

I myself am actually about 80-90% left-handed. My right hand is visibly smaller than my left.