Female magician needs help...

Jan 5, 2009
Small town Ohio
Hello there.

So I'm fairly new to the forums here at Theory 11. I've been hanging around here for awhile but i haven't really participated much. But, I thought I could start by asking for some advice.

It's no secret that it is rare for girls to be magicians. Which, in turn can make it really hard for people to take me seriously.
I've been doing magic for almost three years, and not to sound cocky in any way shape or form, but I'm good at it. I've done many performances in nursing homes and I work at two local hospitals from time to time in the pediatric ward. It's definitely fun and rewarding to see those kids have a good time :]
But I'm finding it a little difficult for the majority of people to take me serious. Usually people's first response when I say I'm a magician is, "...are you serious?" and they usually laugh until I prove to them that I actually am.
I usually just bust out a card trick or something so they believe me.
I just find it irritating honestly.

I'm sure I'll just have to get used to it, but I was wondering if there was any advice you guys could give to me to make people take me more serious in a business sense. I would really like to start doing restaurant work and such. I'm just a poor college kid trying to make money where ever I can, haha.

I'm not really expecting you guys to know too much on the subject, being the vast majority of you are males but any little tips would be absolutely fantastic.

Thanks in advance! Oh, and I suppose I should introduce myself, haha.
I'm Amanda. :]

Hey Amanda, we get it too! Well I certainly do anyway. When I say I am a magician people think I am just some nutter. However, you do have to prove it, you have to sell yourself!

If you want to take it more seriously, experience is good which seems like what you have been getting, but you could maybe start up a website, some business cards, do some free performances to get your name out there.