The classic pass. Why?

Jul 19, 2009
im not a pro or a beginner but less than an intermidiete. and i was thinkin about the classic pass i know the mechanic but should i learn the pass. the are like thousands of different methods of movin cards (cherry control and cascade im workin on both) and with all these methods why learn the pass its hard takes months while other control can do the same thing with out the hassle. what do u think. im not a pro so dont judge this is just my opinion.

Alex

Aug 10, 2008
In a rock concert
Here is a list of its advantages.

*Done right is one of the fastest controls out there, you just need a second of misdirection and pop! you are done.

*It has a lot more uses than a simple control:

-Color changes

-Packet switches

-a utility move for sandwich tricks

-Cleanup (in case you end dirty with your setup on top)

And I dont want to dis either the cherry control or the cascade control, but they are both awful, for example, cherry control has very bad angles and the cascade control looks suspicious, ( I know that DnD uses "airing the cards" as an excuse for doing the move, but, lets be honest how many people know that you are "airing the cards" that way?) where the classic pass just looks like you putted the card in the middle and thats all.

Believe me, learn the pass, and learn it well, It was one of my first learned sleights and still use it (and practice it) until this day. BTW check my signature, there is a tutorial there for some tips on the classic pass ;)

Sep 20, 2008
i dont understand people who hate the pass. all you gotta do is make some slight body movements and execute the move.

Bigger action covers the smaller action.

Dec 19, 2007
Italy ,Milano
I do the pass since 1 year and yesterday I perform the pass while a friend of mine was really burning my hand and he did not see anything and i also was saying " your card is in the middle, no move, no misdirection" and he was completly fooled.