Magic Books

Nov 10, 2007
Virginia
Hey guys,

I know this has been posted many times, but I wanted to tell you guys my background and experience in magic.

I want to buy some magic books... I have been performing magic for 4 years and am pretty interested in card magic. I have loads of experience in card magic, but don't really have any books, actually I have no books. I have many DVD's and cards.

Any suggestions on what books to get?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Doctor Magic!

I'd suggest getting hold of the Paper Engine by Aaron Fisher, and while they're still available, ONE TWO and iiii by Daniel Madison.

I always end up looking back at these books.

I'd also suggest the royal road to card magic, but apart from starting me off I haven't really looked at it for ages!

Simon_Magic

Sep 10, 2007
Co.Dublin in Ireland
Hey,

We cant really help as we dont know what other items you have like what dvds you have because if we make recommendations and you have already learned the material from dvds then the recommendation is pointless. You know?

Let me know what you got and I will be glad to help.

Jul 16, 2008
somewhere in New York
Art of astonishment-paul harris, strong magic-darwin ortiz, paper engine-aaron fisher, maximum entertainment-ken weber

Last edited by a moderator:
Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia
Ken Weber. Weber.

Why are we recommending books we obviously don't have?

It's a good book, though.

I'm gonna go for some stuff that people don't normally suggest, just because everyone will say things like The Paper Engine, etc., as good as it is - it's becoming the "in" thing to do.

52 Memories is an excellent book of card magic. A very interesting array of concepts and sleights which are well put together to form relatively simple sleight of hand magic.

Close-Up Card Magic. It's technically out of print, but there are many copies floating around. There are a few routines worth triple the price of the book, from which I've made a good income off.