card trix for newbies?

Dec 8, 2009
Virginia
Hey there, I'm new to the scene, I don't know any card tricks, I just think its pretty cool and am wanting to learn some tricks just for the fun of it. Can anyone recommend any dvd, card trick set, etc. that can help out the newbie?

Hey there, I'm new to the scene, I don't know any card tricks, I just think its pretty cool and am wanting to learn some tricks just for the fun of it. Can anyone recommend any dvd, card trick set, etc. that can help out the newbie?

The answer is simple, buy everything on this site. I will guarantee, after you learn everything from this site you will be a celebrity in your city.

Feb 27, 2008
Grand prairie TX
I agree. I mean, seriously, who needs the basics?

celebrity status is everything.
F*** royal road to card magic and erdnase.
Go straight to the "good stuff".

But if you waaannt to actually learn this stuff well. I guess you can buy those books.
And maybe pick up Magic by joshua jay from your local bookstore. Or now you see it now you dont by bill tarr. Maybe.

Jun 8, 2008
I hope Theory 11 puts out a Beginners dvd some day. They have tome beginner stuff but most of the Material is aimed towards Intermediate.

Aaron fishers beginner 1 on 1's were so good I hope something like that gets added again.

Nov 20, 2007
Sydney, Australia
The answer is simple, buy everything on this site. I will guarantee, after you learn everything from this site you will be a celebrity in your city.

That's the worst advice I've ever heard.

Hi jfoto, welcome to Theory11.

For a real answer to your question, there are several ways to start card magic. Probably the recommended and certainly one of the best is the book Royal Road to Card Magic by Jean Hugard and Frederick Braue. It's cheap, it's comprehensive, and contains a really well-structured way to learn card tricks.