Tough Audience

Jan 9, 2010
Hey guys,

I have been performing magic for about 3 years. The question I have is what do you guys do when met with tough audience. I'm not talking about hecklers here. Im referring to audience who generally does not respond to magic. People who just dont find magic entertaining.

Do you guys keep performing ? What do you guys do when met with such a situation.

Mar 6, 2008
A Land Down Under
Personally when I perform the show no matter how small or large is about my audience. If the audience is a little closed down to this idea I become their friend first and the performed second.

I have a friend who seems to give absolute ZERO reaction whenever I perform. Is this the type of person you're talkin' about?

She's not responsive not because she's SHOCKED with amazement. There are just some people who don't have that kind of...explosive reaction I guess. Whatever you do, don't blame it on yourself. Different people respond to different kinds of magic. For example, my friend didn't respond to my performance of Biddle Trick, but she went berserk when I performed Saw. Then again, who wouldn't respond to Saw? lolololz

In that situation, however, if I get no response, I would aim my performance towards another audience member. However, if it's a one-on-one type of situation, then...I can't really help ya there buddy. I've never been in that kind of predicament before.

To those who do not perform on stages, a closed audience is when an audience has basically locked you out from their minds and just coldly look at what you are doing expecting nothing and rather doing something else with that time.

It depends on the situation but i try to get them into the mood by making things a little more personal, giving them some of my experiences and try to make them relate. I also use the friendship bond(said by D ICE R) which basically lands in the same alley as the first.