Magic Castle

Jul 7, 2010
I auditioned for the magic castle junior society in september, they said that they liked my routine but that since i have only been doing magic for 2 years I needed to do magic for longer before they would accept me. I really want to do well in my next audition and I think it would be helpful if people would post some videos of their routines. Thanks! oh and just to clarify, I just want ideas I'm not going to steal anyone's routine.

May 2, 2008
Pennsylvania
I doubt anyone is going to take the time out of their day to film their own personal routine that they've worked on for a long time, with someone who they've never met before, but is just asking them on an internet magic forum.

I for one, would never give up my sets that I've been working on for 5 years fine-tuning.

Although you might not go in with the intention of "stealing" someone's routine, it is very tempting to take some patter, or a move that you see...

Just some thought, maybe just practice your own routine, and ask for feedback on it - how can you make it better? Is it too long, too short? How fluid is the patter...etc.?

Good luck.

Aug 31, 2007
There a quite a few a castle members on these forums, myself being one of them. The best tip when performing: look at the audience as much as possible, and talk loud enough so that the people in back can hear you. Very important.

You can take a look at Michael Stern's Future Stars performance here:

http://www.sternmagic.com/media.html

~Zach

Aug 23, 2009
i happen to be a junior member, and they probably just want the presentation to be better...that will just come with experience (time) a lot of the time its the presentation and not just your skill.

RickEverhart

forum moderator / t11
Elite Member
Sep 14, 2008
Louisville, OH