New to Magic

Mar 27, 2011
Hey guys, I am brand new to magic and discovered this fantastic site. I saw a video posted on youtube by theory11 that had some great tips for beginners by some of their amazing artists. One of the tips was to decide what kind of magic to get into and then pick three really good tricks to master. I have decided that I like card magic, now I was wondering if you guys could share some of your favorite tricks for a beginner. They don't have to be tricks on theory11 but if you could share where they can be learned that would be awesome. Look forward to hearing your thoughts! Thanks guys.

The Biddle Trick, Invisible Reverse and Sloppy Shuffle Triumph are three great beginner tricks that require only very basic sleight of hand. You can learn all of them on YouTube. You should also check out a guy called mismag822 while you're on YouTube. He's got a ton of card trick tutorials for beginner trick and more advanced tricks when you start getting better.

Lol except for me. I got started on YouTube but after I acquired a basic knowledge of magic I got away from learning off it. Not everyone on there is terrible. You just have to know whom to learn from.

Last edited by a moderator:
Nov 3, 2010
If your just starting magic i recommend the biddle trick, Search and destory by aaron fisher and witness by Lee Asher.

My favorite tricks are Matt Mello's modern mentalism dvd 1 ( any card at any number ). Daniel Madison Blind , Tony Chang Sandwiches, Patrick kun Vector Point and Center point.

check those out

Sep 1, 2007
Get yourself a copy of Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic. Yes, it's more than just cards, but you'll be hard pressed to find a better value. It's also better to have a wide foundation in fundamentals and general skills before picking a specialization.

DO NOT learn from YouTube. ''Mismag'' tells how to do tricks and calls them different things so nobody will accuse him of stealing tricks.