Herman Pass vs Classic Pass

Feb 18, 2011
Under your bed
Hi guys,
I have been doing magic for about 2 months, and am finally ready to go into the hand tearing search for perfection of the 'Pass'.

I have seen them both before know how they work, but prefer the Herman... what do you guys think..

I think the Herman is easier to cover up, and easier to do quickly. And it achieves the same things as the classic.. However I see tutorials on the Classic everywhere, but the Herman nowhere

Which one do you guys think is better? =]

Last edited by a moderator:
May 23, 2010
I prefer the classic pass because I have worked on it for over a year and can perform it nearly invisibly but I still use the herman for tricky situations and I used the herman more when I was starting out.

Reactions: LargeOctopode
Feb 18, 2011
Under your bed
That's cool.. but another thing is that the classic pass can never be FULLY invisible (except if you have been practicing for like 20 years). Whereas the spread, and turnover can (from most angles)...

Plus the spread pass is amazing because closing the spread is such a moving action, that extra movement from your bottom will not seem odd... whereas in a riffle pass... there is no point for you to be riffling, or jiggling (in a jiggle pass).

Just a thought =]

Reactions: Karo-K54
That's cool.. but another thing is that the classic pass can never be FULLY invisible (except if you have been practicing for like 20 years). Whereas the spread, and turnover can (from most angles)...

Plus the spread pass is amazing because closing the spread is such a moving action, that extra movement from your bottom will not seem odd... whereas in a riffle pass... there is no point for you to be riffling, or jiggling (in a jiggle pass).

Just a thought =]