Fooling Houdini - Book Review (what's with all the exposure?)

Oct 23, 2014
As a neophyte amateur magician, I was delighted at the anecdotes and insights Alex Stone provides in his autobiographical account of magic culture. As someone who takes magic very seriously and takes secrecy as a real responsibility, I was horrified at just how much exposure there is in this book, directed at the general public.

Alex Stone is a writer by trade, and his engaging-though-pedestrian writing makes the entire book feel like one long editorial piece. It's not such a bad thing, but it's not that great either. The book is engaging because the subject matter is totally fascinating, but you get the sense that Stone can't give you a full, rich picture of it all because he is handicapped by ineptness and a lack of respect and true understanding for the art he's supposedly devoting his life to. If you know anything about magic, you can't help but raise an eyebrow at some of his stories or claims.

The best parts of the book are actually about other people: Richard Turner, Persi Diaconis, etc. And though Ricky Jay pointed out various small factual errors in Stone's history lessons, the real suspicious parts of the narrative have to do with the author's journey itself. By his own account, he goes from nearly incapable to mastering a broad variety of gambling techniques, pick pocketing, mentalism, and mathematical/memory feats in a matter of a year or two. Not to say it's impossible, but even if you watch a clip of Alex performing magic on talk shows on TV (the book was a big success), you can see plainly that he's not a master at anything. The heroes journey makes for a good read, but as someone familiar with the world of magic, the book caused increasingly more eye-roles as it progressed.