Best place to learn culling?

Jan 31, 2018
I'm a beginner to culling, and my culling need massive improvement. The problem is that I don't know the mechanism of the move. Where can I learn this move?
I've been hearing about the Roadrunner cull, but is that too advanced for me? Anyway it's way too pricey for me right now... So what are my options?

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
My recommendation is the Roadrunner Cull. The only difference between "too advanced" and "perfectly fine" is how much you're willing to work on it. Kostya breaks it down very well.

There's another DVD called the Cullfather by Iain Moran. It's good, but Kostya's the god of culling.

The original "cull" is from Hofsinzer, which I think is published in Hofsinzer's Card Conjuring. Not being intimately familiar with the various printings, I'd advise the Karl Fulves' translation, if you don't read German for the original Ottokar Fischer.

You can also check the resources here:
http://www.geniimagazine.com/magicpedia/Hofzinser_Spread_Cull

Jan 31, 2018
The only difference between "too advanced" and "perfectly fine" is how much you're willing to work on it. Kostya breaks it down very well.
So you're saying that a total beginner could get it and learn culling if he puts his mind and time to it?

WitchDocIsIn

Elite Member
Sep 13, 2008
So you're saying that a total beginner could get it and learn culling if he puts his mind and time to it?

Yes.

It might take longer than someone who's experienced with sleight of hand, but it's just a matter of doing it. Culling is mechanically fairly simple. The part you have to really practice is getting it smooth and not hesitating. Kostya's work covers that very well.

Reactions: Antonio Diavolo

DavidL11229

Elite Member
Jul 25, 2015
Seattle