Gimmicks are WRONG?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 4, 2010
My main issue with gimmicks is that they can create extraordinary pieces of magic but when compared to magic done with sleight of hand, the sleight of hand appears to be a lot more amateur.

For example: I was doing a show at my Youth with a fellow magician. I did a cups and balls routine, with final loads being spongeballs allowing me to flow into a Benson Bowl-esque routine and spongeball routine. Now, what I did was great use of sleight of hand and routining. Sure, I am no pro sleight of hand artist but what I did required much practice and thought. My final "load" under the bowl was an "invisible deck" (which was actually nothing) so that my friend would be easily routined into the show...then all of his tricks required some form of gimmick (except Pressure which just uses a balloon and a borrowed item) and he finished out the show. The only problem was, at the end of the show, everyone was saying how great his was and how mine was alright. Except they don't know the most important aspect, his work was almost all done for him, mine was all up to me. Invisible deck, Pressure, Tagged...all of these are about 2 points away from being self working.

That's my issue with gimmicks...when people think they are more amazing than sleight of hand...sure, they can do amazing things but a magician without them that focuses on them, is screwed and not really a magician at all.

I'm not saying don't use gimmicks as I have a few in my arsenal too but when it comes down to it, it really ticks me off that people think magicians who use all gimmicks are some kind of amazing person when in actuality, they barely do any work.

PS. My friend is quite the card worker, I'm not disrespecting him or anything, he only used gimmicks for this show because he recently bought Tagged, loves his Invisible deck and he just learned Pressure.

Jul 13, 2009
Edmonton, Canada